fbpx Water Financialization 101: Water Futures, Water Markets and Reclaiming the Water Commons | The Oakland Institute
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Water Financialization 101: Water Futures, Water Markets and Reclaiming the Water Commons

Water Financialization 101 flyer

 

In December of last year, there was a general restlessness when an international company began listing water use rights in California in the futures market. However, the alarms were sounding for a while as water has been privatized in many ways and forms.

The financialization of water is not only threatening the Right to Water and Sanitation enshrined in the UN convention of July 2010, but it is also the last frontier for the commodification of water.

This webinar, organized by Food and Water Watch, Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy, the Transnational Institute and the Blue Planet Project, will address the issue and will include the perspectives of scholars and activists from the north and south.

Date and Time

When: Wednesday, March 24, 2021, 11:30AM ET / 8:30 PT / 10:30AM COT / 15:30 GMT

Zoom Webinar: Register at http://fwwat.ch/Water101

Speakers

  • Maude Barlow, Chair, Blue Planet Project and Food and Water Watch

  • Marcela López, Center for Metropolitan Studies at the Technische Universität Berlin

  • Anuradha Mittal, Executive Director, Oakland Institute

  • Emiliano Terán Mantovani, Observatorio de Ecologia Politica de Venezuela

  • Steve Suppan, Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy

  • Shiney Varghese, Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy

  • Moderated by Satoko Kishimoto, Transnational Institute

Simultaneous translation EN/SP will be provided.